Skip navigation

Had a situation where I needed to connect via SonicWall VPN before logging on to Windows
In my experience the VPN client replaces the normal GINA so that you can authenticate using a VPN connection.

Solution found:
Comment by Hori76
http://www.experts-exchange.com/Software/System_Utilities/Remote_Access/VPN/Q_24181114.html

which points to a note by PsyCrow
http://www.msfn.org/board/need-to-start-vpn-program-before-logon-s-t87231.html

To sum it up…

1. Create a batch file with the following information
@echo off
"C:\Program Files\SonicWALL\SonicWALL Global VPN Client\swgvpnclient.exe" /E YOUR CONNECTION NAME

2. Launch “gpedit.msc” and add the batch file you created to the Startup scripts
3. Restart the computer
4. Wait until the Sonicwall Client launches which will give an error since the connection is not installed under the system account
5. Install the connection and make sure it’s named the same as specified
6. Don’t see why you wouldn’t be able to just enable the connection and proceed but I restarted again anyway
7. If you so choose remove the batch file from the Startup scripts GP entry

Now in my instance I wanted to logon for the first time which of course requires a connection to the domain in question. (no cached profile)
After I logged on it seemed to hang at “Applying computer settings…”
Just wait a bit. It will eventually go through.

4 Comments

  1. Was this XP or Vista?

    I’m trying to do this in Windows 7 and the bach file’s not running. I’ve done the log file switch and the file gets created, but it’s empty.

    Good woork though.. hope to get it working for on 7.

    ~ Fred

    • This was Windows XP but I don’t see a reason why it wouldn’t work with Vista/7.
      Is the problem with the startup script/batch file or the SonicWall client?
      Make sure it’s a Startup script not a Logon script. Startup scripts are specified under the Computer section.
      I would also test the batch file while already logged on to Windows to make sure that works.
      I’d be interested in finding out if you get this to work. It wouldn’t be until next week before I could try it myself I’m afraid.

  2. I truly appreciate this post. It saved me from having to drive 600 miles today.

    We recently migrated domains here and one of our guys is located on the other side of the state! I was going to have to go there to setup his computer… but figured there had to be a way to do this remotely.

    Thanks again!!!

  3. Also, if you are unable to get this to work, here’s a trick to get you into the system account (to setup the VPN stuff):

    http://alieneyes.wordpress.com/2006/10/23/how-to-gain-access-to-system-account-the-most-powerful-account-in-windows/


Leave a Reply

